Monday, 25 February 2019

Senate President, Bukola Saraki Loses Senatorial Seat To APC’s Candidate, Oloriegbe in Kwara State

Bukola Saraki

Yesterday was not a good day for the current Senate President, Bukola Saraki, as he lost Kwara Central Senatorial District election to All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Ibrahim Oloriegbe.

The result was announced on Sunday, February 24, by the returning Officer, Professor Olawale Olatunbosun, shortly after collating the results of the election in the zone.

According to the returning officer, Oloriegbe scored a total of 123,808 votes to defeat Senator Saraki of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 68,994 votes.

A breakdown of the results of the elections conducted revealed that the Senator-elect defeated the Senate President in all four local government areas in Kwara Central senatorial district. They are Asa, Ilorin South, Ilorin West, and Ilorin East LGAs.

The lawmaker’s loss in the election has cost him and his party a seat in the ninth Assembly, after Saraki’s tenure as Senate President ends

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Enter Your Email To Get Our Updates

* indicates required
window.setTimeout(function() { document.body.className = document.body.className.replace('loading', ''); }, 10);